NextCode Forum Index NextCode
Open Source Software Creation
 

xmail showing up as spam, how do I resolve this?
Click here to go to the original topic

 
       NextCode Forum Index -> Support (phpxmail)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
scrambler



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:44 am    Post subject: xmail showing up as spam, how do I resolve this?  

Hello All,

I have phpxmail setup and everything appears to be correct, I can send, and I can receive just fine. However, the messages are refused by some servers stating the my ip address has been listed as an abuse address. However, just got my IP a week ago, and I had not had any issues since then sending emails until I built the sever a few days ago.
I have my mail function setup in the PHP.INI like this:

[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP = mydomain.com
smtp_port = 25

; For Win32 only.
sendmail_from = admin@mydomain.com

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Rick
Back to top  
makelt



Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Netherlands

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:07 am    Post subject:  

Hi Rick,

Here is a nice place where you can get some extra information about your ip-address and check if it is listed in any blacklist : http://www.senderbase.org/

Maybe it's an idea to use your providers SMTP server for sending mail with PHP, instead of your own?

Cheers,

Tjeerd
Back to top  
scrambler



Joined: 16 Aug 2006
Posts: 2

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:26 am    Post subject:  

makelt wrote: Hi Rick,

Here is a nice place where you can get some extra information about your ip-address and check if it is listed in any blacklist : http://www.senderbase.org/

Maybe it's an idea to use your providers SMTP server for sending mail with PHP, instead of your own?

Cheers,

Tjeerd

Thank you very much for the link. Looks pretty confusing. LOL
I have been trying to use my ISP's SMTP server since I noticed this issue, but the mail seems to go off in to space. Not in spam, junk mail, or anything and the logs show rcpt "ok".

Any ideas on that?

Thanks again,

Rick
Back to top  
makelt



Joined: 23 Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Location: Netherlands

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 7:53 am    Post subject:  

scrambler wrote:
Thank you very much for the link. Looks pretty confusing. LOL
I have been trying to use my ISP's SMTP server since I noticed this issue, but the mail seems to go off in to space. Not in spam, junk mail, or anything and the logs show rcpt "ok".

Any ideas on that?

Thanks again,

Rick

Well Rick,

Since PHPXMail is only a tool that is useful to easily configure XMail, it has nothing to do with the sending of your e-mails nor with your server being reported as a spam server by other mailservers.

It seems to me that your problem has nothing to do with PHPXMail but with the configuration of your XMail server. Therefore I think this topic goes a bit beyond the scope of this forum... :roll:

I think your chances to solve this are bigger when you post it on the XMail Forum : http://xmailforum.homelinux.net/

Good luck!

Tjeerd

ps.
It will help if you provide some extra information about the configuration of your XMail; what are the contents of your "server.tab"?
Back to top  
 
       NextCode Forum Index -> Support (phpxmail)
Page 1 of 1


Powered by phpBB Search Engine Indexer
Powered by phpBB 2.0.13 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group